Search By Topic


Future Earth nominees serving as authors and editors on IPCC’s next global report

More than two dozen experts from the Future Earth community have been selected to serve as authors and editors on the next global-scale report from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). The IPCC announced its picks this week for Review Editors, Lead Authors and Coordinating Lead Authors for the report, called the Sixth Assessment Report. Among the hundreds of names chosen to contribute to the effort, 29 had been nominated by Future Earth late last year.

The Sixth Assessment Report, which the IPCC will publish in 2021, is a mammoth effort that seeks to capture the latest research on climate change and its impacts and solutions. The report's findings are split into three working groups. They focus on the science of climate change, its impacts and the ways that communities can adapt to them and how the world can mitigate rising temperatures.

Future Earth’s selected nominees for these three working groups hail from a wide range of disciplines and parts of the world. They include researchers who study rapid urbanisation, indigenous knowledge and the planet’s past climate conditions. They come from 16 different countries, ranging from Indonesia to Nigeria and Brazil, and several work outside of academia, including in the private sector.

You can learn more about the IPCC’s Sixth Assessment Report here. See a full list of Future Earth’s selected nominees below:

Working Group I (Physical Science)
Paulo Eduardo Artaxo Netto Lead Author University of São Paulo, Brazil
Govindasamy Bala Lead Author Indian Institute of Science, India
Kim Cobb Lead Author Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Surahe Dessai Lead Author University of Leeds, UK
Richard Feely Review Editor NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, USA
Joelle Gergis Lead Author University of Melbourne, Australia
Samuel Jaccard Lead Author University of Bern, Switzerland
Darrell Kaufman Lead Author Northern Arizona University, USA
Jessica Tierney Lead Author University of Arizona, USA
Working Group II (Impacts and Adaptation)
Md. Arfanuzzaman Lead Author Bangladesh Centre for Advanced Studies, Bangladesh
Mark Costello Lead Author University of Auckland, New Zealand
Richard Dawson Lead Author Newcastle University, UK
Siri Hallstrom Eriksen Lead Author Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Norway
Rebecca Harris Lead Author University of Tasmania, Australia
Shin-ichi Ito Lead Author The University of Tokyo, Japan
Timon McPhearson Lead Author Urban Systems Lab, The New School, USA
Ben Orlove Lead Author Columbia University, USA
Tim Smith Lead Author University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia
Maria Cristina Tirado Lead Author University of California Los Angeles, USA
Working Group III (Mitigation)
Xuemei Bai Lead Author

Australian National University, Australia

Esther Badiola Review Editor European Investment Bank, Luxembourg
Shobhakar Dhakal Coordinating Lead Author Asian Institute of Technology, Thailand
Frank Geels Lead Author University of Manchester, UK
Alex Godoy Review Editor Universidad del Desarrollo, Chile
Joni Jupesta Lead Author Sinar Mas Agribusiness and Food, Indonesia
Karachepone Ninan Lead Author Centre for Economics, Environment and Society, India
Chioma Daisy Onyige Lead Author University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Alexander Popp Lead Author Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany
Ayyoob Sharifi Lead Author National Institute for Environmental Studies, Japan