The Advisory Committee guides Future Earth as it enters its next phase as an evolving international platform for research and innovation.

The committee provides advice to ensure that Future Earth’s research is of the highest quality. It also aids the organization in forming the links between science and society that are critical for transforming research into action. Among other tasks, the Advisory Committee provides guidance on:

  • Identifying emerging trends in sustainability and areas where new research is a priority;
  • Continuing to develop Future Earth’s existing research and innovation projects and launching new ones;
  • Ensuring that Future Earth’s activities are responsive to the evolving needs of society and making research results accessible to innovators in policy, business, civil society and more.

The Advisory Committee succeeds the Science and Engagement Committees, which were active from 2014 to 2017. In December 2017, Future Earth announced that Leena Srivastava and Johan Rockström would co-chair the newly-formed Advisory Committee. The full membership was announced in March 2018.

Advisory Committee Members

Anny Cazenave
Asunción Lera St. Clair
Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias
Fatima Denton
Jim Balsillie
Johan Rockström
Joy Shumake-Guillemot
Leena Srivastava
Naoko Ishii
Oyun Sanjaasuren
Peng Gong
Tetsuzo Yasunari
Tolu Oni