Future Earth Assembly 2024

The Future Earth Assembly will take place online and in Helsinki, Finland from 12-13 June, 2024 alongside the SRI Congress. This annual gathering provides a platform for broad consultation and enables the full community to participate in the development of Future Earth core agenda, strategies, activities and structures.

The Future Earth community has made significant strides in developing key scientific insights spanning various disciplines, with the goal of enabling systems-science and governance involving diverse stakeholders. Open to Future Earth members and participants at the SRI2024 and Sustainability Days, Day 1 of the Assembly will focus on promoting systems-based research discussions with a view to identifying key gaps in our current understanding. Day 2 is exclusively for Assembly members and includes a number of updates and reports from the past year with dedicated time for strategic discussions to prepare recommendations to the Governing Council. The agenda was designed by the 2024 Assembly Organizing Committee.

We invite you to identify through the survey below sub-themes of interest to your Future Earth entity’s work and expertise, where further research efforts should be focused. The intent is for these topics to identify where progress can be made in aligning the unique diversity of expertise and perspectives in Future Earth. The focus will be on key topics and research questions at the intersections between the Future Earth networks, and identifying the research needed to build resilience and sustainability. The deadline to submit your ideas is 31 May

Furthermore, you can bring a poster (around 91.4 cm x 121.9 cm 36”x48”) to introduce the work of your Future Earth Entity during the Assembly poster session. Please indicate through the survey link above if you plan to bring one.


Organizing Committee
This year’s organizing committee consists of representatives from various Future Earth entities that provided their insights for the organization, content and visioning for this Assembly.

  • Cornelia Krug (Assembly Co-chair/bioDISCOVERY) 
  • Kristie Ebi (Assembly Co-chair/Health KAN) 
  • Anik Bhaduri (Asia Regional Committee)
  • Stephane Blanc (Global Hub Funder- France)  
  • Semeena Shamsudheen (ILEAPS) 
  • Hannah Liddy (AIMES) 
  • Ariane de Bremond (GLP) 
  • Xiaoyu Fang (FE Coasts) 
  • Herbert Mba Aki (LMIC/ECR) 
  • Giles B. Sioen (Future Earth Global Secretariat)
  • Ria Lambino (Future Earth Global Secretariat)
  • Fumiko Kasuga (Future Earth Global Secretariat)
  • Jakob Lundberg (Future Earth Global Secretariat)
  • Wendy Broadgate (Future Earth Global Secretariat)

Secretariat Organization
This year’s organization would further not have been possible without the dedicated work by following individuals from the Future Earth global secretariat:

  • Lisa Jacobson, Swedish Hub
  • Sophie Hebden, Swedish Hub
  • Unn Rasmussen, Swedish Hub
  • Susanna Dobrota, Swedish Hub
  • Giles B. Sioen, Japan Hub
  • Ria Lambino, Japan Hub
  • Fumiko Kasuga, Japan Hub
  • Jakob Lundberg, Swedish Hub
  • Wendy Broadgate, Swedish Hub
  • Cecilia Andersson, Swedish Hub