Future Earth, including its Secretariat based in five Global Hubs and seven Regional Centres and Offices and its National Structures, is funded by a range of private and public foundations, government agencies, universities and other groups.

Future Earth Year 1 expenses

Total funding for the five global hubs of Future Earth year 1 (April 2015 to March 2016) was 4.6 million USD.

Future Earth would like to thank the following funders for their generous contributions in supporting research for global sustainability. This is a partial list of our funders and will be updated on an ongoing basis:

Montreal Global Hub Funders
Fond de Recherche du Québec
Montréal International
Concordia University
Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique (INRS)
McGill University
Réseau des Universités du Québec (UQ)
Université Laval
Université de Montréal
Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR)
Ministère des Relations Internationales du Québec
City of Montréal

Swedish Global Hub Funders
The Swedish Ministry of Environment (via Swedish Research Council, FORMAS)
The Swedish Ministry of Higher Education and Research (via the Swedish Research Council Vetenskapsrådet)
The Erling-Persson Family Foundation
European Space Agency

Paris Global Hub Funders
Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)
Ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche (MENESR)
Alliance Nationale pour la Recherche en Environnement (AllEnvi)
Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR)

Japan Global Hub Funders
Science Council of Japan
The University of Tokyo
National Institute for Environmental Studies
Research Institute of Humanity and Nature
Kyoto University
Keio University
Japan Science and Technology Agency/Research Institute of Science and Technology for Society

Colorado Global Hub Funders
U.S. Global Change Research Program (Core)
U.S. National Science Foundation (Core)
Colorado State University (Core in kind)
University of Colorado (Core in kind)
MacArthur Foundation (Function)
Wilburforce Foundation (Function)

Regional Centre Funders
The Royal Society of Great Britain (Europe)
The British Academy (Europe)
University of East Anglia (Europe)
The Cyprus Institute/Republic of Cyprus (MENA)
Research Institute for Humanity and Nature (Asia)
Japan Science and Technology Agency/Research Institute of Science and Technology for Society

National contributors to the funding of global operations
Austria (Federal Ministry for Science, Research & Economy)
Finland (Council of Finnish Academies)
Mexico (Consejo Nacional de Ciencia Y Tecnologia, CONACYT)
Norway (The Research Council of Norway)
Slovak Republik (Academy of Sciences)
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (Japan)

National Committee Funders
Tallinn University (Estonia)
Council of Finnish Academies (Finland)
Maj and Tor Nessling Foundation (Finland)
University of Helsinki Division of Atmospheric Sciences (Finland)
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG (Germany)
Royal Irish Academy (Ireland)
Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
Research Council of Norway (Norway)
University of Oslo (Norway)
Romanian Academy (Romania)
Korean Academy of Science and Technology (in-kind contributor, Korea)
National Academy of Sciences (in-kind contributor, Korea)
Chinese Academy of Science and Technology (in-kind contributor, China)