Future Earth is funded by a range of private and public foundations, government agencies, universities and other groups. We thank the below organizations for their generous contributions in supporting research for global sustainability.

Montreal Global Hub Funders

  • Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR)
  • The City of Montréal
  • ClimateWorks Foundation
  • Concordia University
  • European Climate Foundation
  • Laval University
  • McGill University
  • Ministry of International Relations of Québec
  • Montréal International
  • National Institute of Scientific Research (INRS)
  • Network of Universities of Quebec
  • Ouranos
  • Polytechnique Montréal
  • Research Fund of Quebec (FRQ)
  • Skoll Foundation
  • University of Montréal
  • University of Québec, Montréal (UQAM)

Swedish Global Hub Funders

  • The Swedish Ministry of Environment (via Swedish Research Council, FORMAS)
  • The Swedish Ministry of Higher Education and Research (via the Swedish Research Council, Vetenskapsrådet)
  • The Erling-Persson Family Foundation
  • European Space Agency
  • Vinnova, Sweden’s innovation agency
  • The Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra
  • Porticus
  • U.S. National Science Foundation
  • UK Science & Innovation Network in Sweden
  • The International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme (IGBP)

Paris Global Hub Funders

  • Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation (MESRI)
  • National Alliance for Environmental Research (AllEnvi)
  • National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS)
  • National Research Agency (ANR)
  • Sorbonne Université

Japan Global Hub Funders

  • AEON Environmental Foundation
  • KAO Corporation
  • Keio University
  • Kyoto University
  • Japan Science and Technology Agency/Research Institute of Science and Technology for Society
  • National Institute for Environmental Studies
  • Remote Sensing Technology Center of Japan
  • Research Institute for Humanity and Nature
  • Science Council of Japan
  • The University of Tokyo

U.S. Global Hub Funders

  • Belmont Forum
  • Colorado State University
  • Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
  • George Mason University
  • Leonardo DiCaprio Foundation
  • NASA
  • NOMIS Foundation
  • University of Colorado Boulder
  • U.S. Global Change Research Program
  • U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
  • U.S. National Science Foundation

Regional Center and Office Funders

  • Divecha Centre for Climate Change (DCCC), Indian Institute of Science (South Asia Regional Office)
  • The Cyprus Institute/Republic of Cyprus (Regional Centre for MENA)
  • Research Institute for Humanity and Nature (Regional Centre for Asia)

National Contributors to the Funding of Global Operations

  • Australia (Australian Academy of Science)
  • Austria (Federal Ministry for Science, Research & Economy)
  • China: Taipei (Academia Sinica)
  • Finland (Council of Finnish Academies)
  • Germany (German Research Foundation)
  • India (Indian National Science Academy)
  • Ireland (Royal Irish Academy)
  • Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities
  • Japan (Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, MEXT)
  • Norway (The Research Council of Norway)
  • Republic of Korea (Office of the National Academy of Sciences)
  • Switzerland (Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences, Academies of Arts and Sciences and Swiss National Science Foundation)