The Future Earth Assembly took place online and in Panama City, Panama from 29-30 June, 2023 (see report). This annual gathering provides a platform for broad consultation and enables the full community to participate in the development of Future Earth core agenda, strategies, activities and structures.


28 June (Wednesday)

  • 9:00am: SRI Open Day
  • 12:30pm – 1:30pm: Lunch
  • 17:00pm: Assembly Poster Session at SRI Open Day Reception (Onsite, Online: Showcase)

*All daytime events held at the Panama Convention Center (GMT-5, online links will be provided closer to start time) 

29 June (Thursday)

  • 11:00am – 12:30pm: Plenary (Hybrid)
    • Opening Remarks
    • Address from Custodians
    • Highlights of Future Earth Community
    • Strategic Cross-cutting Activities Coordinated by Future Earth Secretariat
  • 12:30pm – 13:30pm: Lunch Break
  • 13:30pm – 16:30pm: Cross-entity Breakout (Onsite)
  • 18:30pm: Dinner Social Event

30 June (Friday)

  • 3am – 4:30am: Cross-entity Breakout (Online)
  • 8:30am – 9:30am: Plenary (Online)
    • Report by Governing Council
    • Report on Implementation Plan
    • Diversity Report
  • 9:30am – 10:30am: Entity group breakouts (Online)
  • 10:30am – 11:00am: Coffee Break
  • 11:00am – 12:30pm: Plenary (Hybrid)
  • 12:30pm – 13:30pm: Lunch Break
  • 13:30pm – 15:00pm: Plenary (Hybrid)
  • 15:00pm – 17:00pm: SRI Closing Plenary


Regional, National and Local Committees and Structures


Organizing Committee Assembly Members

  • Paula Ribeiro Prist , GRN (oneHEALTH)
  • Semeena Shamsudheen, GRN (iLEAPS)
  • Xiaoyu Fang, GRN (FEC)
  • Rico Ancog, National committee (Philippines)
  • Kuaanan Techato, National committee (Thailand)
  • Ajibola Akanji , ECR
  • Mais Aljunaidy, ECR
  • Eduardo Erazo Acosta, LMIC (Colombia)
  • Yulia Sugandi, LMIC (Indonesia)
  • Kristie Ebi (Assembly Co-Chair)
  • Cornelia Krug (Assembly Co-Chair)

Secretariat Liaison Support

Secretariat Organization

  • Revital Shpangental, Director, Taipei Hub
  • Erica Key, Director, USA Hub
  • Shih-Yu Lee, Deputy Director, Taipei Hub
  • Sophie Hsin-Lin Su, Science Officer, Taipei Hub
  • Laurel Milliken, Director of Operations, USA Hub