Search By Topic


Earth Commission Co-chair Joyeeta Gupta Appointed to the UN Group of Ten High-Level Representatives

Earth Commission Co-Chair Prof. Joyeeta Gupta has been appointed one of the United Nations Group of Ten High-Level Representatives of Civil Society, Private Sector, and Scientific Community to Promote Science, Technology, and Innovation for the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The group consists of a handful of experts that have taken on the assignment for a two-year period.

Gupta is Professor of Environment and Development at the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences at the University of Amsterdam and Professor on Sustainability, IHE Delft Institute for Water Education. She will bring substantial experience and expertise to the group setting out to bring science to the fore to achieve the SDGs.

All ten appointees will work closely with the UN Inter-agency Task Team on Science, Technology and Innovation for the SDGs facilitating partnerships and mobilizing resources for the Technology Facilitation Mechanism. Learn more about Gupta’s appointment.