Future Earth harnesses the experience and reach of thousands of scientists and innovators from across the globe. This global community is spread over a series of networks and governing and advisory bodies.

Governing Council

The Governing Council of Future Earth is composed of the International Science Council (ISC), the Belmont Forum of funding agencies, the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the United Nations University (UNU), Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN), the STS forum, and the World Meteorological Organization.


The day-to-day operations of Future Earth are carried out by the Secretariat, which is based in five Global Hubs and in Regional Centres and Offices. The Global Hubs are located in Colorado, Montreal, Paris, Stockholm, and Tokyo.

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee guides Future Earth as it enters the next phase in its evolution. The committee will provide advice to ensure that Future Earth’s research is of the highest quality. It will also aid the organization in forming the links between science and society that are critical for transforming research into action. The Advisory Committee is led by co-chairs Leena Srivastava and Johan Rockström