The National Committee in India is hosted by the Indian National Science Academy (INSA)

A new National Committee for Future Earth India has been appointed by the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) for the years 2020-2025. The chair of the National Committee, Dr M N Rajeevan, is the Secretary of the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India. The members consist of scientists and researchers from various backgrounds, including climate, water, rural management, wildlife and palaeosciences–to reflect the multidisciplinary nature of the Future Earth initiative.


The National Committee is currently developing a plan for a Sustainability Program in India, which will focus on:
Increasing research capacity and public awareness regarding the water-energy-food nexus and associated public health risks

  • Bridging gaps between science, policy and practice
  • Encouraging young career researchers in the field of climate change and sustainability

This program will be carried out for a period of two years, as a part of the larger South Asia Regional Program of Future Earth. The National Committee plans on including a large and diverse set of stakeholders to engage and collaborate with on a regular basis in order to successfully implement this program.


Office Address:
Future Earth South Asia
Divecha Centre for Climate Change
Indian Institute of Science
Bangalore, Karnataka


Tel: 080-22933425/2075, Fax: 080-22933425

National Committee Members

M N Rajeevan
Aditi Mukherji
Ravi S. Nanjundiah
S Suresh Babu
Sandeep Tambe
Sunderrajan Krishnan
T R Shankar Raman
Vandana Prasad


First Meeting (Orientation) of the Second Future Earth National Committee, India (Meeting Report)

The National Committee of Future Earth, India, met online for an Orientation Program on 25 November, 2020. The meeting was attended by Dr. M. N. Rajeevan, chair of the National Committee, and 7 National Committee members. The event was a one-and-a-half-hour long session, and included presentations regarding Future Earth, its regional activities in Asia and South Asia, followed by a brief round of introductions and discussions by the National Committee members on the way forward. It was decided that a workshop would be held by March, 2021, to plan a two-year-long program by the new National Committee in India.

First Meeting of the First Future Earth National Committee, India

The first meeting of the newly constituted Future Earth National Committee, under the International Council Scientific Unions of Indian National Science Academy (INSA), was held at INSA on 25 July 2016. Prof. S.K. Satheesh, Chair, Divecha Centre for Climate Change and Executive Director, Future Earth South Asia, was the special invited guest.
During the meeting, extensive discussions were carried out on the ongoing research activities in the country on: (a) Climate and Health implications of the regional emissions Aerosols and Trace gas emissions; (b) Climate impacts on Himalayan Cryosphere and Polar Ice cover and implications for the society in terms of water budget and sea level rise; (c) Societal impacts of sea-level rise and sinking deltas in terms of sustenance and food security; and (d) Climate change impact on biodiversity including migration of non-local species, especially at high-altitude regions.
The trans-boundary nature of the processes and impacts, the need as well for science data across political boundaries was stressed upon and resolved that the multidisciplinary nature of Future Earth programme provides the ideal umbrella for such activities. The committee also suggested expanding the Future Earth national committee including domain experts from health, agriculture and food security, biodiversity, health, economics and social sciences, adaptation and social sciences, in view of the highly multidisciplinary nature of Future Earth programme.