The Regional Office for Future Earth in South Asia has a domain that spans the region of SAARC, Myanmar, and the two Indian Ocean Island Countries of Mauritius and Maldives. The office was set up on 9 July 2016 and has been fully established over the last four years with its co-aligned host, the Divecha Centre for Climate Change at the Indian Institute of Science in Bengaluru, India.

The South Asia Regional Office has organized various international workshops. Over the past years, it has also established two Future Earth Programs and constituted a Governing Council (GC). The South Asia Regional Office is now expanding its outreach and activities and has initiated a five-year Regional Program to:

  1. Help communicate science to society
  2. Develop community driven pilot programs on-ground
  3. Build a young researchers community
  4. Act as an interface between science and policy
  5. Look into the issues related to Food Security, Water Security, Air Pollution and the associated Health Risks in South Asia.

The office is also building a networking and coordination team to facilitate research, and to partner with various organizations globally.

Related content:

  • Future Earth Working Groups and National Committee- South Asia (Announcing soon)
    • Future Earth Working Group Bangladesh
    • Future Earth Working Group Bhutan
    • Future Earth National Committee India
    • Future Earth Working Group Mauritius
    • Future Earth Working Group Maldives
    • Future Earth Working Group Nepal
    • Future Earth Working Group Sri Lanka
    • Future Earth Working Group Pakistan


Office Address:
Future Earth South Asia
Divecha Centre for Climate Change
Indian Institute of Science
Bangalore, Karnataka


Tel: 080-22933425/2075, Fax: 080-22933425

South Asia Regional Office Staff

S.K. Satheesh
Smriti Basnett
Sruti Devendran

Governing Council


K. Kasturirangan (Padma Vibhushan)


Shamsul Alam
Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury


Pema Choephyel


Jagdeesh Rao Puppala
Prem Das Rai
Prithvi Raj Singh
M N Rajeevan
Rajiv Pratap Rudy


Khin Maung Lwin
Ohnmar Khaing
U Tin Maung Aye Htoo
Zaw Naing


Ajaya Dixit
Arnico Panday
Swarnim Waglé

Sri Lanka

D. M. Athula H. Senaratne
Mahavidanage Jaanaki Gooneratne
W.A.R.T Wickramaarachchi